Airtel Complaint: Deactivation of Prepaid Mobile number by the Service Provider (AIRTEL)

Name of Complainant Pravin
Date of ComplaintApril 22, 2018
Name(s) of companies complained against ,
Category of complaint Mobile Phone
Permanent link of complaint Right click to copy link
Share your complaint on social media for wider reach
Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmail
Text of Complaint by Pravin:

Hello,

This is with respect to the “Deactivation of Prepaid Mobile number” by the service provider (AIRTEL).

As we all pass through so many hurdles to obtain a mobile number and we register that number for various services as a mandatory requirement these days including Aadhar Card, Pan Card, Passport, Bank Account, Credit Card etc.

In my case, as I am traveling outside India on work, project assignments for multiple months and haven’t been used my prepaid Indian/Airtel number for more 90 days.

That doesn’t mean, the service provider has to deactivate my number and allocate it to some new person.
The service provider (AIRTEL) has not made any alternate option or provision to activate the prepaid number through their Mobile App or Online web service. Who has to blame?

All my registered details are sent through SMS to that number which is totally illegal and compromise of individual’s privacy by the service provider (AIRTEL).

This is leading to an unimaginable inconvenience by the service provider by disconnecting the numbers and ask us to obtain a new number and register for all the services. Specifically, Aadhar and Banking are absolutely horrendous to go through.
Please help us to resolve this issue. I am sure, I am not the only one facing this issue.

Regards,
Pravin

I have attached email response for your reference.

Dear Customer,

Greetings from Airtel!

This is in reference to your email regarding services not working for your airtel mobile number 7738873485.
At the outset, I regret the inconvenience caused to you.
We would like to inform you that, the trigle SMS will be send for all customer’s before deactivation of number fro m our end.

We would like to inform you that services for your airtel mobile were discontinued on 16/03/2018 due to no usage found on your number in last 90 days. Usage could be with respect to an outgoing call, SMS or data usage. Beyond 90 days period, in case of no usage, charges of Rs.20/- per month are deducted from main account towards service extension for 30 days. Due to insufficient balance, the amount could not be deducted and services were disconnected permanently.

We regret to inform you that, we are unable to reactivate same number from our end and there is no provision towards the same.

We request you to visit any of nearest airtel relationship center in home circle to reactivate the number.

Inform you that, subscriber of the SIM holder should physical presence in airtel store to reactivate the number.

For your convenience, we are including airtel store details URL which will help you to get nearby store http://www.airtel.in/forme/arc/reach-airtel
Thanks for reaching out to us. Delighted to assist you!

Best Regards,
Mangala Sharanaiah
Advisor : Customer Experience
Bharti Airtel Ltd

———Original Message———-
From:
To: 121@airtel.com
Cc:
Sent: 19/04/2018 10:30:48 AM
Subject: Re: RE: [|BAL|Ref61542659|] ACTIVATE MY AIRTEL NUMBER…7738873485

Hello Mohan Raj,

Thanks for the email,

I am sorry to say that, this is absolutely unacceptable process from the service provider side.

You disconnect without any prior information and no provision to reactivate.

I have registered this number for all my banks, credit cardsa and Adhaar and other services… which will create unimaginable impact on my transaction and services I have obtained.

Now, all my details will be sent to that mobile number when you issue that number to someone elas.

So, who is responsible for any fradulant activities carried out by the person who get this number??

I have trised so many times, to recharge on Airtel App and online service, which didnt allow me to do so.

Airtel did not kept any provision to tackle such situations when your customers are travelling abroad on project or business or visit for longer period.

I request, please activate for a day or two and immediately I shall recharge and you shall deduct your balance amount out of it.

Look forward for your continued support.

Regards,

Pravin

_____

From: 121@airtel.com <121@airtel.com>
Sent: Monday, April 16, 2018 12:22 PM
To:
Subject: Re: RE: [|BAL|Ref61542659|] ACTIVATE MY AIRTEL NUMBER…7738873485

Dear Pravin,

Greetings from Airtel!

This is in reference to your email regarding reactivation of SIM services on your airtel mobile number 7738873485.

At the outset, we regret the inconvenience caused to you.

We would like to inform you that services for your airtel mobile were discontinued on 16-03-2018 due to no usage found on your number in last 90 days. Usage could be with respect to an outgoing call, SMS or data usage. Beyond 90 days period, in case of no usage, charges of Rs.20/- per month are deducted from main account towards service extension for 30 days. Due to insufficient balance, the amount could not be deducted and services were disconnected permanently.

Further, you may get the same number reactivated within grace period of 15 days from the date of disconnection by paying reactivation charge of Rs.20/- at airtel relationship Center in home circle, since grace period of 15 days already completed we are unable to reactivate the same number from our end and there is no provision for the same.

Thanks for reaching out to us. Delighted to assist you.

Best Regards,
Mohanraj Gunasekaran
Advisor : Customer Experience
Bharti Airtel Ltd

———Original Message———-
From:
To: 121@airtel.com
Cc:
Sent: 15/04/2018 10:34:07 AM
Subject: Re: [|BAL|Ref61300107|] ACTIVATE MY AIRTEL NUMBER…7738873485

Good Morning Veena,

Thank you for your response.

I am bit surprised to hear, there is no sufficient balance in my account. I guess which is not correct.

You mean to say, my number is totally deactivated and I`m unable to get that number??

Regards,

Pravin

_____

From: 121@in.airtel.com <121@in.airtel.com>
Sent: Thursday, April 12, 2018 10:09 AM
To:
Subject: RE: [|BAL|Ref61300107|] ACTIVATE MY AIRTEL NUMBER…7738873485

Dear Pravin,

Greetings from Airtel!

This is in reference to your email regarding reactivation of SIM services on your airtel mobile number 7738873485.

At the outset, I regret the inconvenience caused to you.

We would like to inform you that services for your airtel mobile were discontinued on 16-03-2018 due to no usage found on your num

Image Uploaded by Pravin:

Airtel Complaint: Deactivation of Prepaid Mobile number by the Service Provider (AIRTEL)

FREE! How To Make Rs. 5 Crore By Investing Only Rs. 16,229

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *